programming
Programming Hatchet 1y ago 100%

Make invalid states unrepresentable

https://geeklaunch.io/blog/make-invalid-states-unrepresentable/

Some programming languages have really powerful type systems, so we're really leaving money on the table if we don't take full advantage of them. In the case of Rust, I believe the type system has been shown to even be Turing-complete! (That's not an injunction to implement everything at compile-time.)

I know, for myself, coming from a JavaScript background, strict type systems seemed... restrictive, at first, but I've gradually grown to love and even depend on the strong guarantees provided by languages like Rust.


This is a presentation I recently gave at a work conference in article form. I've also recorded a YouTube video version if you prefer that format.

3
1
Comments 1