visitingfrance
Visiting France freedomPusher 9mo ago 100%

Banque Populaire ← ATM without fees?

Every ATM I’ve encountered in Europe charges a fee for a foreign bank transaction if dynamic currency conversion (DCC) is not used (otherwise the fee is factored into the conversion). Exceptionally, an ATM from Banque Populaire did not even give a DCC option (fine with me, I opt-out of that anyway), but then it also charged no fee. I was baffled; I suspected it was doing something sneaky like DCC w/out consent. But it looks like my bank charged me the interbank conversion rate and indeed no fee appeared either. So I got a good deal and AFAICT Banque Populaire made no profit.

Is Banque Populaire known to be fee-free to everyone? Seems unlikely that my foreign bank has a reciprocity arrangement with Banque Populaire and searches on that come up dry.

1
0
Comments 0