music
music Luna 1w ago 100%

Luna's Djentposting Arc #1: Monuments' "The Amanuensis"

tankie.tube

Hi everyone! I thought this album would be a good one to start off this arc. I don't know how long I'll keep up with it, and it won't be a daily thing, but I'm hoping we can get some discussion going about what we like and don't like about certain djent songs and/or albums.

The Amanuensis is probably Monument's most popular album, and it's definetly considered by most people to be their best work. It marks a departure from their sound in their first EP and Album, with cleaner vocals and screams as well as different styles of riffs and a less audible bass (rip). I believe this was also the first album to feature riff writing from their (at the time) other guitarist, Olly Steele.

There's a lot to love about this album. All instruments and vocals are really good and fit together and the writing is really impressive. My favorite part of the album is probably the end, with Saga City-Jinn-I, The Destroyer, just going from Saga Cities cleaner melodies, to Jinn's rapid riffs and screams, to I, The Destroyers more slow, lower riffs and deep screams.

If you haven't heard this album before, it's a classic, so give it a listen! Come back and tell me what you think about it, or post your live reaction as you're listening to it kirby-jammin

16
6
Comments 6