chapotraphouse
chapotraphouse real 24h ago 86%

I think I may have almost convinced my lib mom to vote for Stein

Hey peeps, I've been a hexbear a while this is just a new alt. mao-wave

Some background: My Mom is a lib, but not a superlib. She is disgusted by what's happening in gaza, doesn't really belive the democrats have her best interests at heart, etc. She thinks she consumes diverse media but it's really only what the local radio station plays. (NPR, BBC World Service.) Whenever I bring up the issue of supporting the democrats when they are actively committing genocide, she agrees with how disgusting it is but also doesn't believe it's not worth voting for Kamala over. ("I can't let this be the reason trump becomes president again.") She also doesn't believe that Kamala and Biden are actively praticipating in the genocide - she thinks the money will get sent either way. I know. She was extremely disillusioned with the dems before Joe dropped out but after they tagged Kopmalla in she's been fairly excited. She likes Kamala somewhat, very much likes that she's a woman, and very much dislikes trump. Anytime I call her out on her inconsistencies in belief vs how she votes (not that voting really matters but its the principal) she talks about how she as a mother and a woman can't let Trump win again.

Anyways, I had a very productive conversation with her last night. I basically convinced her that Kamala will lose, and deserves to lose because she won't shift her policy on Gaza. I also told her that Jill Stein doesn't need to win, she just needs to get to 5% to change the political landscape of this country. (I know that Stein is far from ideal but she's not a LIB, she's an easy pill for much more people to swallow and she has the best shot of 5%. The PSL is far better, but I'm supporting Jill this cycle.) I think what finally woke my Mom up is when I said, "You always talk about wanting to make change somehow, and this is a way to make change but you won't take it because that's what others have told you not to do." That really seemed to strike a cord and I feel like she really hears me for the first time.

Now she's at the point where she can't hear it any more from me, but needs a little boost further to radicalize her against the democratic party. If any hexbears have some good resources on subjects like the lack of the lesser of two evils, the democrats enactment of project 2025, how getting Stein to 5% helps, the ease at which Biden and Kamala could end the genocide, etc they'd be much appreciated.

I typed this out in like 5 minutes on my phone so I hope any of it makes sense. Also if we could avoid dunking on my mom, that'd be great - she's a lib but she made me who I am and is amazing also.

11
16
Comments 16