selfhosted
Selfhosted Moonrise2473 6h ago 100%

Has anyone tried the new Resilio Sync 3?

A decade ago I used BitTorrent Sync. Then it became Resilio Sync. Then with Resilio Sync 2 they nerfed the free app to a point that I just removed that from all my computers and switched to syncthing.

Yesterday I was watching my server struggling when syncthing was doing the periodic scan of a directory with hundreds of thousands of files and then i thought, "maybe Resilio Sync uses less resources or doesn't waste time reindexing a static directory for the nth time"

I went to see their website and now with the new version 3, all the features are back. The business plan now is to sell the app to enterprises at unaffordable prices rather to persuade consumers to pay a subscription to self host their syncing server

I wanted to try it but now they say docker version is discontinued, need to install the package to bare metal. Ugh... So I desisted and decided to stay with syncthing

Now with the news of the impending discontinuation of syncthing android app, everything changes. Without Android support, syncthing is no more irreplaceable for me.

So, has anyone tried Resilio Sync 3? Is it good?

13
5
Comments 5